I’m Fundraising.

Some don’t believe what thousands have experienced. Some will laugh and mock, others will dodge the topic altogether.

I genuinely don’t care what side of the fence you sit when it comes to vaccines. You’ll probably be surprised to know that I do believe in them, childhood vaccines being one example. However, I also know, without a shadow of doubt, that for thousands the benefit was not worth the risk when it came to the Covid vaccines.

I lost any form of a meaningful existence within hours of this vaccine. It took me years of therapy to reach a point where I’m not angry anymore. I accept the loss of who I was and what I could and did do, and accept who I have to be right now to get through this period. I still fight everyday to get some form of a life back. But in the meantime I now volunteer for UKCVFamily, a charity and support group for those injured or bereaved due to these vaccines. My initial role was as an admin for the support group, but I’m now also their second safeguarding lead. Each day, even when I’m so unwell I can’t get out of bed, I get to help others reach the support they need.

This charity means a great deal to me and so many others. It has genuinely seen my mental health improve significantly, meaning I don’t need such regular therapy sessions. Sessions I’ve had to self fund, despite no longer being able to work. But volunteering now gives me purpose despite my suffering, because let’s face it even the busiest person can dedicate 10 minutes every few hours to helping someone else. So that’s what I do now.

I still hope to be better one day, I mean I’ve been through some WILD treatments because of what happened to me. I have a nerve stimulator implanted in my head and chest, with wires through my neck. I’m part of a clinical study. I’m still having regular reprogramming sessions to try and get this working sufficiently to reduce my pain levels. I also have the most horrendous mullet hidden under my beautiful hair. I’m also awaiting tests for suspected demyelination due to the vaccines, which could be the cause of my widespread pain and disability. It has taken 2 years and 11 months for a doctors to not dismiss these symptoms and the changes in my health and finally look at investigating what has happened to me.

I was competing internationally as a powerlifter, British Benchpress Champion and I designed buildings for a living. The last job I worked on was Google HQ in London, alongside doing all the steel fabrication drawings for the Battersea northern line extension. I’m now disabled and have a snazzy walking stick. I was someone that couldn’t sit still for 5 minutes. I was always doing something and if I was told I couldn’t then that would just make me even more determined.

I’m still determined, in fact more so than ever. But right now, while tests and trials tick away in the background, I focus on what I can do now. That’s helping others, others worse off than me, others who are still angry and only just finding support after 3 years. Helping to change the way adverse reactions are handled by both the government and healthcare professionals. Helping the way the world sees us. We’re no different from the next person, we’ve just had something awful happen that changed the path of our lives.

So I’m raising money for them, money that goes directly to helping us change the world for thousands of people. The trustees and volunteers, like me, receive no money for what we do. It truly all goes to helping our members and our fight for better treatment and understanding. We don’t get to sue the companies that produced these, and the majority of people are having their claims for the Vaccine Damage Payment declined. I know what happened to me and my experience. I also know that in the last 3 years I’ve lost nearly £100k in income as a result. The VDPS is only £120k – that’s less than 4 years income for me, but it is supposed to be enough to make up for the possibility than I may never be able to work again. I’m only 30, I was 27 when this happened. Is £120k enough when my situation may remain the same for another 40-60 years, when I know I will decline throughout that time? But that doesn’t matter, because my claim will also likely be declined.

I hope you’ll consider donating or sharing – it truly would mean a lot. But if not, I hope you’ll consider ensuring to be kind and compassionate if you come across someone else like me. I could have considered fundraising for myself to get the private tests I need to understand what’s wrong with me, but this is bigger than me. Much bigger. It’s called UKCVFamily because we are all in this together.

Leave a comment